> Members

The NVTL has about 750 members, most of whom work as garden or landscape architects. About half our members are registered with the Architects Register of the Netherlands and are therefore entitled to use the professional title ‘garden and landscape architect’. Many members are active in one of the Association’s many committees or networks in which the Association members.

> Board

The NVTL Board has seven members. The Board lays down the Association’s policies and oversees their implementation by the secretariat and the committees.
Each board member is responsible for one area of policy, such as education, practice advocacy, international contacts and professional development. The Board meets once a month to discuss current business and take decisions.

The NVTL board currently comprises the following members:

>  Ben Kuipers
> Joeri de Bekker
> Jan Janse
> Harro Wieringai de Bekker

> President

Ben Kuipers NVTLBen Kuipers

> Secretary office

The secretariat is the Association’s first point of contact for members and external enquiries. The secretary office  consists of Willemijn ter Hart (office coordinator) en Selinda Stompé (administration).
The secretariat shares offices with the BNA (Industry Association of Dutch Architects) and the BNSP (Dutch Professional Organisation of Urban Designers and Planners) at the following address:
Jollemanhof 14
1019 GW Amsterdam
T 020 - 427 55 90
F 020 - 421 71 72
E This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

> Committees

Almost all the Association’s activities are organised and coordinated by committees of volunteers. At the moment there are five active committees:

> Advisory Council

The Board is advised by the Advisory Council, which comprises prominent members with specific expertise who are committed to the Association. They advise the Board on the direction of policy and shaping implementation of the NVTLs’ mission and goals. The Advisory Council holds meetings with the Board yearly.

The Adisory Council currently consist of the following members: 

> Edzo Bindels, partner West 8, Rotterdam
> Bart Brands, directeur Karres en Brands, Hilversum
> Marlies Brinkhuijsen, assistant professor Wageningen University, Wageningen
> Harry Harsema, directeur uitgeverij Blauwdruk/Blauwe Kamer, Wageningen
> Martin Knuijt, partner OKRA landschapsarchitecten, Utrecht
> Ben Kuipers, zelfstandig landschapsarchitect, Delft
> Maike van Stiphout, directeur DS landschapsarchitecten, Amsterdam
> Peter Veenstra, partner LOLA landscape architects, Rotterdam
> Barbara Roozen-Hoevenaars, zelfstandig landschapsarchitect, Gilze
> Berdie Olthof, partner Feddes/Olthof, Utrecht
> Jannemarie de Jonge, partner Wing, Wageningen
> Lieneke van Campen, directeur Karres en Brands, Hilversum
> Paul Achterberg, directeur atelier Quadrat, Rotterdam
> Han Thijssen, directeur MTD landschapsarchitecten, 's-Hertogenbosch
> Sonja van Wieringen, directeur Buro Son, Putten

> Honorary members

The NVTL Constitution allows the Board to acknowledge individual members who have made exceptional contributions to the goals of the Association by appointing them honorary members.
The Board pursues an active and considered approach to appointing honorary members and seeks to make optimal use of the expertise of these individuals by encouraging them to make a modest but valuable contribution to shaping the Association’s policies.

The association currently has four honorary members: 


In memoriam:

> Constitution and Regulations

The Association’s governance structure and Code of Conduct are set out in the Constitution and Regulations. All NVTL members must endorse the Association’s Code of Conduct. Members listed on the Architects Register who have endorsed the Code of Conduct have the right to use the designation ‘BNT’ after their names.

The Constitution, Regulations and Code of Conduct can be downloaded here (in Dutch only). 

> Constitution (download pdf)
> Regulations (download pdf)
> Code of Conduct (download pdf)